Pokemon Cards – X and Y

Mega_Charizard_X-X-and-Y

I heard about Pokemon X and Y a few days ago. It’s a huge deal in my circle of friends. It’s supposed to be a throwback to the old days. But, it seems like, again, it’s all new. I totally understand that these things need to grow and evolve (no pun intended), but it just doesn’t seem like it… is in line with the heart of the original. It’s not what it used to be. They seem to keep changing everything. Some of my friends say it even looks more like Digimon now than Pokemon. I for one am a fan of the old cards, though some of the new ones are pretty cool. But, the names and looks of the Pokemon have gotten more and more ridiculous. I imagine it’s hard to come up with new ones, though.

At first, I was upset with the new feature of mega evolutions. It was ludicrous to me to change the originals. But, now I see it’s a way to reintroduce them. I hope they don’t distort them too much. I’m glad, however, that they can expand upon the originals, though. And I’m not opposed to making them new and fresh… I guess I had just grown dissatisfied with how ridiculous some of the Pokemon have become. I haven’t watched the show in a long time. I am looking forward to seeing what this new set has in store. Definitely going to save up for the games.

I always thought the older cards would become worth more money. I had become disheartened with how invaluable they seemed, but I held onto them all the same. I admit, I haven’t looked at them much in a long time, but it’s a piece of my childhood I’m not willing to give up. I recently saw this article (linked below), though, and now I may just pull those cards out and see if I have any worth parting with. šŸ˜‰

http://games.yahoo.com/photos/the-10-most-expensive-pokemon-cards-slideshow/pokemon-ex-cards-photo-1381522544590.html

Posted on October 12, 2013, in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Share your thoughts

