Twilight – Review (YA)

Twilightbook

Here’s the summary on the back:

About three things I was absolutely positive. First, Edward was a vampire. Second, there was a part of him – and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be – that thirsted for my blood.And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

I’m not really sure what to say. On one hand I love this series (though this isn’t my favorite book in it) and on the other hand I don’t love it. There is a lot of controversy with this book.

When I first heard about the book I did not want to read it. I tend to hesitate when it comes to overly hyped up books and things that become mainstream, but when I finally did read it I loved it. I loved the new take on vampires (I love original vampire myths, too, but not as much as some people who strictly adhere to that lore). I liked that there was finally a book where vampires could go out in the sun and not kill people. I loved the corny romance and identified with the ordinary teen who gets the great guy. I could feel the intense emotion.

I have read it several times since then, however, and I can see the other side of the spectrum, now. For those who don’t like corny love stories, this is not the book for you. For those who love old vampire lore and hate new, sparkly takes on it, this is not for you. It does have some great extras like Native American culture and myths, shape shifting wolves, and vampire fights, but those things are not the main focus. The focus is Edward and Bella’s relationship. After a few reads, that gets boring. And the book does move slowly.  I also can agree that the characters are whiny once in a while and definitely moody.

Since she draws out the details and development, Stephenie Meyer does a good job of establishing the characters, place, vampire culture, wolf culture, and story, though. There are some really great parts to this story. I will always love Twilight as a whole, even if there are some things I do not like individually.  But, i definitely go drawn into the story and the good parts are worth reading.

So, is it worth a read over all? That depends on you. If you hate new takes on old myths, then no. If you hate teen love stories, then no. But if you don’t mind a corny teen love story then yes. Not every book can be perfect, but over all I like this series.

Untitled-1

Posted on October 4, 2013, in Fantasy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Share your thoughts

